Ask about advertising here!
THE
GUIDE TO
SOUTHEAST
ALASKA
Alaska History
-
A Brief History of Fairbanks
-- from the Fairbanks Chamber of Commerce

-
Alaska Constitution

-
Alaska Historical Society
-- dedicated to the promotion of Alaskan history.

-
Alaska History Toolbox
-- Alaska Studies Teacher's Toolbox; a place to start your internet search for resources to help teach Alaska
related subjects to your students.

-
Alaska Native Knowledge Network
-- a resource for compiling and exchanging
information related to Alaska Native knowledge systems and
ways of knowing.

-
Alaska Natural History Association
-- dedicated to enhancing understanding and conservation of natural, cultural and historical resources of Alaska public lands.

-
Alaska Newspaper Project
-- An ongoing project to locate, catalog, and preserve on microfilm all newspapers published in Alaska. Online searchable database coming soon?

-
ALASKA OFFICE OF HISTORY AND ARCHAEOLOGY
-- oversee programs to identify, document and restore sites and buildings, and to educate Alaskans and visitors about
these non-renewable resources.

-
Alaska Office of History and Archaeology
-- Alaska Dept. of Natural Resources

-
Alaska State Museum
-- also check their
directory of
Museums and Historical Societies in Alaska.

-
Alaskool Native Studies
-- Curriculum and Teacher Education Project. This site has thousands of documents, audio and video materials to promote learning about and from Alaska Native communities and cultures. Sections include - an Inupiat (Northern "Eskimo") phrasebook with both a

-
Aleut Orthodoxy
-- A description of Russian Orthodoxy on St. Paul Island

-
Anchorage Historical Highlights
-- with Anchorage Timeline.

-
Arctic/Northern Culture
-- Yukon and
Alaska histoli

-
Chronological History of Alaska
-- historical facts for which there are written records. From FAQALASKA - Frequently Asked Questions About Alaska

-
Founding of Juneau
-- by Nancy Warren Ferrell. Short historical
overview.

-
Gold Rush Centennial Photographs, 1893-1916
-- A Catalog of Selected Gold Rush Views at the Alaska State Library

-
Gold Town - film on Juneau's history
-- A 28 minute film on the early history of Juneau showing on the big screen at the Gold Town Nickelodeon in downtown Juneau. The Legend of the Lost Rocker Mine and the dramatic cave-in of the Treadwell Mines are several sequences of this 35mm film shot on l

-
Harris Guide
-- Guide To The Family Papers Of Richard Tighe Harris Co-Founder Of Juneau, Alaska

-
Historic Preservation in Juneau, Alaska
-- a joint project of the Juneau Community Development Department and Juneau Public Libraries.

-
Historical Manuscript Collections List
-- University of Alaska Anchorage Archives and Manuscripts Department

-
Historical Overview of the Exxon Valdez oil spill

-
History of the Northwest Coast
-- First person accounts from the European/Indian contact period on the NW Coast.Includes
AL

-
History of the Treadwell Mines
-- A historical picture book about a world-class gold mine at the turn of the century.

-
In the Beginning Was the Word
-- The Russian Church and Native Alaskan Cultures. From the Library of Congress.

-
Juneau Photos 1916-1919
-- Pictures from Juneau about 1916-1919. Parades, Alaska's WWI first draft, the first draft leaving Juneau, Juneau Waterfront

-
Kennecott Copper Company and its CRNW Railway
-- Historic Alaskan photo-journal of Kennecott's Alaskan operations and its Copper River & Northwestern Railway, Cordova to Kennecott, 1911 to 1938, 196 miles.

-
L.A. Fuertes: Harriman Alaska Expedition

-
Meeting of Frontiers
-- bilingual, multimedia English-Russian digital library that tells the story of the American exploration and
settlement of the West, the parallel exploration and settlement of Siberia and the Russian Far East, and the meeting of the
Russian-American fron

-
Military in Alaska, 1867-1996
-- from Elmendorf AFB site.

-
National Archives and Records Administration Migration in History
-- photographs, letters, drawings, and acts
highlight some of the economic, social, and political factors
that prompted thousands to migrate . . .
North to Alaska!

-
Our Way of Making Prayers
-- The Living Tradition of Yup'ik Masks

-
Patsy Ann: Official Greeter of Juneau
-- Juneau's first dog greets boats to this very day!

-
Pratt Museum
-- dedicated to the process of
education, exploring the natural environment and
human experience relative to the Kachemak Bay region
of Alask

-
Prehistory of Alaska
-- overview of the prehistory of Alaska and the cultural resources
(archaeology, history, ethnography) in each national park
and preserve in the state.

-
Roots-L (Genealogy) Resources: Alaska

-
Timeline of Alaska History
-- Click anywhere on the timeline to learn more about 250+
years of Alaskan history. Include historical photos. From the Alaska Permanent Fund Corporation.

-
Women in Alaska History
-- learn about some of the women that helped shape
the Alaska we know today.

Oops!
Did we miss a link to a site that should be on this page? Suggest a site!
Arts |
Business |
Education |
Environment & Ecology |
Fun & Cool Stuff |
Government |
History |
Maps |
News & Media |
People |
Photos |
Politics |
Sports & Recreation |
Travel & Tourism |
Weather
[Home]
[Almanac]
[Awards]
[Calendar]
[Classifieds]
[Directory]
[Guestbook]
[Guide]
[Jobs]
[Kids]
Thanks for visiting the Guide to Southeast Alaska!
We appreciate your comments and suggestions!
Contact us via our FEEDBACK page.
Copyright © 1996-2000 Manchee & McLean.