Ask about advertising here!
THE
GUIDE TO
SOUTHEAST
ALASKA
Alaska Sports & Recreation
-
2001 Cabela's Iditarod Coverage
-- In-depth information and twice daily coverage during the race provided by Iditarod expert Joe Runyan.

-
2001 Special Olympics World Winter Games
-- Anchorage, Alaska -- 2000 athletes from 80 Special Olympics Programs worldwide; 750 coaches, 3000 family members, 3,500 volunteers

-
Alaska Allstar Hockey Association
-- Bestyouth hockey web page in alaska

-
Alaska Backcountry Home Page
-- a resource of Alaska backcounty information and education.

-
Alaska Rivers
-- from American Whitewater Affiliation whose mission is to conserve and restore Amecica's whitewater
resources and to enhance opportunities to enjoy them safely.

-
Alaska School Activities Association
-- a statewide nonprofit organization
established to direct, develop and support Alaska's high school interscholastic
sports, academic and fine arts activities.

-
Alaska Sports Broadcasting Network
-- ASBN broadcasts over 175 sporting events a year, from University of Alaska Anchorage Men and Women's college basketball, to at least 50 Anchorage area high school basketball and football games.

-
Alaska Sports Online
-- Local sports and outdoor news.

-
Alaska State Fair
-- The Fairgrounds are located in Palmer, the heart of the Matanuska Valley

-
Alaska State Parks
-- Park descriptions, recreational cabins, more!

-
Alaska Wilderness Recreation and Tourism Association (AWRTA)
-- a non-profit trade
association which promotes the recognition and protection of Alaska's wild places.

-
alpenglow at arctic valley
-- local ski area

-
Anchorage Aces of the West Coast Hockey League

-
Anchorage Bucs Baseball Club
-- "Americas # 1 summer all-star collegiate baseball club." A premier summer baseball
program containing collegiate players from major universities throughout the United States. The Bucs and the teams that
make up the Alaska Baseball League have

-
Arctic Man Ski & Sno-Go Classic
-- The Arctic Man is one of the World's Toughest Downhill Ski races, and an exciting snowmobile race, all in one.

-
Arctic Winter Games
-- More than 500 athletes from Alaska, the Yukon and
the Northwest Territories participate. The mission of the
Games includes social interchange, cultural
exhibitions, and athletic competition.

-
Augustus Brown Swimming Pool

-
Boy Scouts of America Southeast Alaska Council
-- Council camping, Southeast Alaska patches, Order of the Arrow.

-
British Columbia/Alaska Cycle Touring FAQ
-- All about bicycle touring in British Columbia, Alaska, the Yukon, and the
Northwest Territories. Bicycling on logging roads and trails is outside of the scope of this FAQ.

-
Copper Basin 300 Home Page
-- Dog Sled Race

-
Denali (Mount McKinley), Alaska, 20,320 Feet*
-- Good resource page for those interested in the mountain and climbing.

-
Dogsled.com
-- All of the adventure -- none of the frostbite.
Internet Alaska & APRN coverage of the Iditarod.
Live video and audio webcasts of the start and
finish of the race.

-
Eaglecrest Ski Area
-- Juneau Alaska -- home of Hilary Lindh, Olympic medalist

-
Fairbanks Cycle Club
-- Cycling Club in Fairbanks, Alaska dedicated to promoting year round the sport of bicycling in the interior of Alaska. Supports both Road and Mountain Bike cycling including leisure rides, group rides, endurance events and competitive racing.

-
Fairbanks Goldpanners
-- Palmer Alaska. In 1987 and 1997, the Mat-Su Miners won the National Baseball Conference (NBC) championship in Wichita, Kansas.

-
Gastineau Channel Little League
-- Since 1952 providing baseball and softball instruction, games and experience for youth. Serving over 1,020 kids during the 1998 season from 6 to 18 in Tee Ball,softball and baseball.

-
Gold Medal Basketball Tournament
-- Southeast Alaska 2001 Gold Medal Basketball Tournament Home page

-
Golden North Salmon Derby
-- August 17-19, 2001

-
Gone to the Dogs!
-- Capital Kennel Club of Juneau

-
Great Outdoor Recreation Pages - Alaska
-- Gorp provides excellent content and a comprehensive resource for
outdoor recreation in the U.S. Great source of information on Alaska’s national parks, forests, wildlife areas, scenic
rivers, national monuments historic parks and wilderness ar

-
JDHS Men's Basketball
-- 1997 and 1998 Alaska State Boys Basketball Champions!

-
JDHS Women's Basketball
-- Site of the 1996 4A High School State Champions. Schedules, photos, statistics.

-
JSAWeb
-- Official website of the Juneau Sports Association.
The organization running adult softball in Juneau

-
Juneau Aurora Knights
-- Synchronized Swimming Team

-
Juneau Empire Sports Page
-- Now by subscription only. Updated daily.

-
Juneau Folk Music & Dance Community
-- Thursday Night Contra Dances, New England
Barn Dances, Juneau International Folkdancers, Camp Damp & English Country Dancing

-
Juneau Freewheelers Bike Club
-- Non-profit group locally promoting bicycling activities

-
Juneau Golf Club
-- First formed nearly 40 years ago to promote the sport of golf in Juneau.

-
Juneau Model Rocket Club
-- Bringing Model rocketry to Juneau!

-
Juneau Sailing Club
-- Non-profit club promoting sailing in SE AK - racing, cruising & FUN!

-
Juneau Shooting Sports Guide
-- Guide to the shooting sports events and organizations in
Juneau and Southeast Alaska.

-
Juneau Volleyball Association
-- "power volleyball" at all age ranges

-
Juneau Youth Football League

-
Juneau Youth Sailing Foundation
-- Non-profit trust providing a nationally recognized junior boating program.

-
Ketchikan Running Club
-- The Ketchikan Running Club web page provides information on year round running events in the Ketchikan area including 1 mile fun runs for kids, 5K and 10K run/walk events, triathalons, plus a fall marathon and half marathon.

-
Klondike Road Relay
-- Outside magazine provided coverage of the 130 teams of runners as they chase the midnight
sun from Skagway, Alaska, to Whitehorse, Yukon Territory.

-
Mat-Su Miners Baseball Home Page
-- Palmer Alaska. In 1987 and 1997,
the Mat-Su Miners won the National Baseball
Conference (NBC) championship in Wichita, Kansas.

-
Mat-Su Youth Sports Assocation
-- MYFA is a local, all volunteer, non-profit organization designed to promote fitness and athletic development of valley youth through the sport of football.

-
Official Site of the Last Great Race
-- Alaska is the world Mecca for sled dog racing

-
On the Run Northwest--Southeast Road Runners
-- This is the web-site for Juneau's running club, Southeast Road Runners (SERR). Gives a description of the goal of the club and all of the races sponsored by the club for 1998.

-
Recreation in Juneau (City Page)
-- from the City & Borough of Juneau page.

-
Recreation.Gov Alaska
-- one-stop source for information on recreational opportunities on fedeal lands: National Park Service, Fish and Wildlife Service, Bureau of Land Management, USDA Forest Service, Department of Transportation & US Army Corps of Engineers

-
Sitka Sportsman's Assn
-- Sitka Sportsman's Assn., Salmon, Derby, Indoor shooting range, Sitka High School Rifle Team, R.V. Park.

-
Southeast Road Runners
-- - Website for the running community in Juneau Alaska. Race schedule, information, links for runners, and more.

-
Tesoro Iron Dog
-- the world's longest snowmobile race at approximately 2000 miles. Teams of two racers travel from Wasilla to Nome and then proceed to an exciting finish in Fairbanks.

-
Trail Mix
-- Web page for Trail Mix: Working to improve the Juneau area trail system

-
UAS Synchro Club
-- University of Alaska Southeast's synchro club, competing regionally and nationally!

-
University of Alaska Anchorage Athletics
-- Basketball, Gymnastics, Hockey, Skiing, Swimming, Volleyball, X-Country

-
University of Fairbanks
-- Department of Athletics and Campus Recreation.
Men's Ice Hockey;
Men's Basketball;
Women's Volleyball;
Women's Basketball;
Cross Country Running and Skiing;
and Rifle

-
World Extreme Skiing Championships
-- This annual event is held in the spectacular
Chugach Mountain Range that encircles the Alaskan port of Valdez.

-
World Ice Art Championships
-- Annual world class sculturing in Fairbanks, with lighted Ice Art Park. Sanctioned by the Association Internationale De culpture Sur Neige Et Glace.

-
Yukon Quest Page

Oops!
Did we miss a link to a site that should be on this page? Suggest a site!
Arts |
Business |
Education |
Environment & Ecology |
Fun & Cool Stuff |
Government |
History |
Maps |
News & Media |
People |
Photos |
Politics |
Sports & Recreation |
Travel & Tourism |
Weather
[Home]
[Almanac]
[Awards]
[Calendar]
[Classifieds]
[Directory]
[Guestbook]
[Guide]
[Jobs]
[Kids]
Thanks for visiting the Guide to Southeast Alaska!
We appreciate your comments and suggestions!
Contact us via our FEEDBACK page.
Copyright © 1996-2000 Manchee & McLean.